Posted by: scottishwriters | December 1, 2012

The Writer’s Life: Jo Unwin Visits the SWC

Jo UnwinThursday 6th December; 7pm,
CCA Clubroom, Glasgow:

The Writer’s Life with Jo Unwin (Lterary Agent at Conville & Walsh)

Jo Unwin joined Conville & Walsh as an agent in 2008, and has had considerable success launching numerous titles since then. Currently building a list which ranges from literary fiction to children’s books and young adult titles, Jo represents over twenty authors (including Eddie Izzard, Marianne Levy, and Vic Reeves).

With years of industry experience, Jo will answer those all-important questions: when do I know a final draft is ready to send out? How do I find an agent who is right for me? How do I get my manuscript noticed after submitting?

This is an excellent opportunity for authors with completed manuscripts to pitch their concepts to Jo. Can you do it in ten words, or two sentences at most? Come along and give it a try!

The Writer’s Life is supported by Glasgow Life and Glasgow City Council.

Tickets: £6 (£3 for SWC members and concessions).

Responses

  1. It might be because I’m reading this on my mobile but I can’t find a link to get a ticket? Thursday is my birthday – would love to come spend it listening to Jo 😀

  2. Will be great to see you, Heather. You just pay at the door as you go in, no need for tickets in advance.

  3. Just wanted to come back and say how much I enjoyed the talk., Not only was Jo inspiring (I particularly liked the bit about her finding herself and starting a new career at 40 – struck a chord with me!) I have not ventured into the world of joining writers groups so it was lovely to sit with a lot of like-minded folks -for the first time in my case – and share thoughts and opinions on the writing and submissions process. Although I am on rewrites and so away away from being ready, I wanted to come along and find out where I should be going 🙂 I came away with a lot of great advice from Jo herself, shook hands with Karen Campbell, writer of Proof of Life which I read & thoroughly enjoyed earlier this year (so that was a happy surprise) and stood shaking in my shoes in my first ever, terrifying pitch attempt which I absolutely had not planned to do. So thank you. I hope to come to many more of these events. If any of the writers at the event want to get in touch please come over to my blog, (I mentioned the evening on there today) or find me on Twitter @hell4heather – it was lovely to meet you all 🙂

  4. […] I spent it in the company of many other aspiring writers listening to an enlightening talk at The Scottish Writers’ Centre on the submission process from Conville & Walsh agent Jo Unwin. I should point out I had not […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

