Posted by: scottishwriters | February 5, 2018

SWC Recommends… The Best of Scottish Fiction in 2017 and 2018

Unsurprisingly, here at the Scottish Writers’ Centre, we are passionate about promoting the works of Scottish writers. There are some wonderful books being published by Scottish writers at the moment, from the pens of both new and experienced writers, and we are excited to share some of our favourite with you on our blog! Read on to find out three recent publications that we loved, and three books we’re looking forward to reading in 2018…

 

Three books we enjoyed in 2017…

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine – Gail Honeyman

If you haven’t encountered this bestseller yet, then where exactly have you been hiding? The debut novel from Glaswegian author Gail Honeyman has already been optioned for a film by Reese Witherspoon and sold for a reputed six-figure sum at the Frankfurt Book Festival. Not bad for a recent winner of the Scottish Book Trust’s New Chapter Award – it’s advised to pick this one up sooner rather than later, otherwise you’ll definitely risk lots of spoilers…

The Other Mrs Walker – Mary Paulson-Ellis

This elegantly written debut from Edinburgh-based writer Mary Paulson-Ellis has been described as a detective story without a detective, and it’s a wittily composed tagline that has drawn in thousands of readers. Compelling, intriguing and quite frankly a book that you won’t be able to put down, The Other Mrs Walker was named Waterstones’ Scottish Book of the Year in 2017.

This is Memorial Device – David Keenan

A highly original, dynamic and exciting novel, David Keenan’s impeccably crafted retrospective look at Airdrie’s music scene in the 1970s is a must-read for anyone with an interest in bold, experimental fiction. At a recent Creative Conversations event at the University of Glasgow, Keenan stated that This is Memorial Device is a book that you can read forwards, backwards and also in random, jumbled-up segments, and if that’s not an enticing invitation then I’m not sure what is…

 

 

And three books we’re looking forward to…

Dead Men’s Trousers – Irvine Welsh

Well, we couldn’t compile a list of much-anticipated 2018 releases without including a Trainspotting sequel, could we? On the 29th of March, the world will again be reunited with Renton, Begbie, Spud and Sick Boy, and with the book’s press revealing that one of the protagonists will be dead by the end, we’re sure that it’ll be a must-read for fans of Irvine Welsh and Scottish literature alike.

The Blood – E.S. Thomson

The second and newest addition to the Jem Flockhart, The Blood looks set to be as riveting, complex and enjoyable as its predecessor, Beloved Poison. With an entertaining mix of page-turning mystery and impeccably researched history, this is a Victorian series that surely won’t leave you disappointed.

The Gloaming – Kirsty Logan

Released on 19th April, Kirsty Logan’s latest novel is sure to be a spellbinding, brilliantly magical read just like her previous releases, which include Rental Heart and Other Fairytales, The Gracekeepers and A Portable Shelter, discussed in a previous blog post here. Logan is well-known for her ability to capture everyday magic, and we can’t wait for her next book!

Words by Rachel Walker

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Categories

%d bloggers like this: